Flamenco

February 16, 2010

dies war heute in der zeitung:

FLAMENCO

und das bild hat mich an etwas erinnert, dass ich letzte woche gelesen habe. ich recherchiere grade ueber die englische sprache, nicht nur im sinne von teilnehmender beobachtung, sondern auch wissenschaftlich. um mir die einfuehrung nicht ganz so schwer zu machen, hatte ich mit bill brysons “mother tongue” begonnen. darin gibt es ein kapitel über die leidenschaft des wordplay, der viele engländer anheimgefallen sind.

British crosswords require you to realize that carthorse is an anagram of orchestra, that contaminated can be made into no admittance (…). To a British crossword enthusiast, the clue ‘An important city in Czechoslovakia’ instantly suggests Oslo. Why? Look at CzechOSLOvakia again. (…) HIJKLMNO is water because it is H-to-O or H2O. Some clues are cryptic in the extreme. The answer to ‘Sweetheart could take Non-Commissioned Officer to dance’ is flame. Why? Well, a noncommissioned officer is an NCO. Another word for Sweetheart is flame. If you add NCO to flame you get flamenco, a kind of dance.

ich kann mich glücklich schätzen, dass die australier diese leidenschaft geerbt haben, und ausgebaut. sie sind meister im vergleiche ausdenken. die formel lautet  “X is as Y as Z”. Also soetwas wie “That is as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike” oder auch “this text was as interesting as a piece of bread”.

Leave a Reply

